CoH 160 sugarcane variety notified for cultivation in Haryana

A high-sugared and high-yielding variety of sugarcane CoH160 has been notified for cultivation in Haryana by the Indian government's Central Sub-Committee on Crop

Standards, Notification and Release of Varieties for Agricultural Crops. The variety has been developed by the scientists of Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University's regional research station, Uchani in Karnal district.

HAU has developed this variety as a replacement of the popular Co 0238 variety, which has become susceptible to red rot, smut and other diseases. It has also become susceptible to top borer and other insect-pests.

CoH 160 fulfills the present needs of the farming community and industry as the most suitable replacement to the dominant variety Co 0238 in Haryana.

CoH 160 is medium thick with the presence of a bud cushion. The leaves are green with a medium broad leaf canopy and have bobbin-shaped internodes. It has a solid cane with absence of pithiness and straight internode alignment.

Further, this variety is non-lodging, good ratooner with an average cane yield of 838 quintals per hectare (335.2 quintals per acre). The sucrose level at 300 days of planting is high (18.55%), yielding 11.36 tonnes of commercial cane sugar per hectare. This is a versatile variety, suitable both for autumn/spring planting and input responsive. It has responded to 25% higher doses of N, P and K application in the state trials.

It is suited to mechanical harvesting, if planted in wider row spacing. CoH 160 is a multi-ratooner, capable of two ratoon crops without reduction in cane yield, thus saving farmer's cost of planting significantly. It is resistant against prevalent pathotypes of red rot and other diseases. It showed the least susceptible reaction against major borers and sucking pests also.

This variety of sugarcane has been developed by a team of HAU scientists comprising A S Mehla, S P Kadian and M C Kamboj in collaboration with H L Sehtiya, Rakesh Mehra, Samar Singh, Vijay Kumar, Mehar Chand, Ran Singh and Saroj Jaipal.

